Eat This, NOT That.

I’m here to save you from getting misled by your favorite Sweetgreen and Roti “healthy fast food” joints on campus …

Few things irritate me more than people who have a skewed vision of what “healthy” is. Tanya Zuckerbrot, RD and creator of F-Factor Diet, emphasizes that ordering a salad topped with your favorite veggies is low in calories and provides you with a plentiful amount of fiber, vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants. However, topping them with falafel (yes, it’s made of chickpeas but it’s also fried) and a heavy dressing can clock you in for your days worth of fat and calories. This can easily be avoided with substitutions like balsamic vinegar!

I’m all about online food logs because they give you the chance to easily track the nutrient content of your favorite restaurant foods and allow you to make changes to your existing diet. Play around with the nutrition calculators by creating a pita or salad so the next time you decide to treat yourself, you’ll be a health savvy consumer and not be duped by false advertising. Like always, try incorporating a variety of vegetables, grains, and lean protein. Make sure to steer clear of cheese, the “crunch”, and heavy dressings.

The Rundown:

                                                                               Roti

laffa-sandwich

Chicken roti (384 kcal, 16g fat, 35 g protein)

VS

Chicken kabob (127 kcal, 2g fat, 27 g protein)

                                                                                 

Sweetgreen

0017

Earth Bowl (sounds healthy, right?)

(734 kcal, 54g fat, 37 g protein)

VS

Spicy Sabzi (455 kcal, 23.5g fat, 20 g protein)

Each person’s body is unique in that they require different caloric needs. Recognize what your calorie requirements are to help you make smarter food choices. The National Institutes of Health (NIH) states that it takes about 3,500 calories below your calorie needs to lose one pound of fat. In order to lose 1-2 pounds per week, you will need to gradually reduce your intake by 500-1000 calories per day. Remember: moderation is key. If you’re looking to shed a few pounds, make sure to decrease your overall fat intake, increase your protein, and moderate your carb intake to be able to maintain regular physical activity.

[Photo via, via]

 

5 thoughts on “Eat This, NOT That.

  1. I’m so glad you posted about this. I love both of these restaurants and have always thought that by getting the chicken Roti salad, I was choosing the healthier option. I will definitely be making to switch to chicken kabob (with 14 less grams of fat!) whenever I decide to splurge and eat “healthy” fast food.

    • I’m so glad I was able to give you useful information that is relevant to you and your everyday choices. The most important thing is to be an informed consumer and you can transfer these tips to other restaurants as well!

  2. I completely agree with Rachel on this one. I had been getting the Earth Bowl instead of my custom salad at Sweetgreen thinking that the name added a “healthy” touch to it. I also recently became a Roti fan and found myself eating Chicken Rotis plenty of times a week (never would have thought it could even contain that much fat). I will definitely not be doing that anymore and transferring over to the chicken kabob. But I think overall, I have learned that I should shy away from these options and really only indulge in them during more special occasions or when I cant prepare something healthier on my own !

  3. I really love this post. I try to avoid eating out often because of the hidden nutrition facts in many restaurants. It’s nice to have someone point out that just because the name implies something healthy, it’s not necessarily true. I think that so many people fall into the trap of eating out at places like sweet green or roti and think that they can put whatever vegetables/sides on their plates just because the restaurant is overall considered “healthy”. Like I said, I don’t go out often to avoid these problems, but I definitely think I will look up the nutrition facts now before I go out and make my choice.

  4. I love this blog too; very informative. And to Melanie’s point, I ALWAYS look up the nutrition before going out if it’s possible. Even if there is food being ordered in to the office, I try to look up to nutrition to make a better choice. Good post!

Leave a Reply

